Euro Banknotes!

09 Oct 2019

What are the architectural images in Euro Banknotes?


When it comes to the Euro Banknotes, now there is a lot of information you need to know. First of all, before telling you what the architectural images on them are, we from Credit Boost must tell you that the notes are divided into two sets. According to the European Central Bank, there are some changes to mind when it comes to them.

It happens that there is a new set of Euro Banknotes series which contrasts with the older ones. The newest one is entitled “the Europa series”. The information is that this “series is based on the ‘ages and styles’ theme of the first series. However, the new banknotes have been modified in order to give them a fresh look and to accommodate a range of new and enhanced security features, which will also make it easy to differentiate between the two series.

Euro Banknotes!
Find out what are the images in the Euro Banknotes! (Source: Pixabay)

Now let us take a look at the old and new Euro Banknotes

According to the information we gave you above, it is clear that the themes in Euro Banknotes are not changing. However, some of the notes are not going to be distributed anymore, for instance, the €500 note. That being so, the traditional series has seven different denominations. The Europa series has only six of them.

You must also have in mind that with respect to the architectural images on the notes, they do not denote a specific monument. They represent “ages and themes”. This means architectural styles were the main inspiration to design them.

People even voted for their favorite designs in a survey of public acceptance. Did you know that?


Let us take a look at them, including the €500 note.

Ages and Themes

€5: Classical Style –  it derived partly from the Greek and Roman architecture of classical antiquity. It was also enriched by classicizing architectural practice in Europe.

€10: Romanesque Style – the architectural style of Medieval Europe was characterized mostly by semi-circular arches. In England, this style is more traditionally referred to as Norman architecture.

€20: Gothic Style – this type of architecture was known during the period as “the French Style”. The term Gothic first appeared during the latter part of the Renaissance.

€50: Renaissance Style – it developed in different regions of Europe. Its main characteristic was a conscious revival and development of elements of ancient Greek and Roman culture. It was developed first in Florence and quickly spread to other Italian cities.

€100: Baroque and Rococo Style – Baroque architecture is characterized by new explorations of form, light, and shadow. Besides, it counts on dramatic intensity. Rococo developed when Baroque artists became also ornate, florid, and playful.

€200: Iron and Glass Architecture – it is pretty much what it indicates, since here we are talking about material and not shape, precisely.

€500: Modern 2oth Century Architecture – it encompasses a variety of styles, in which emphasis is placed on functionalism, rationalism, and current methods of construction. However, this banknote will not be distributed anymore, as we previously mentioned.

Did you like to know these pieces of information on the Euro Banknotes? Please leave a comment and also share them with whoever would like to learn!